Saturday, February 28, 2009

Saint Luis 1904: 105 years later, Australia claim long-lost Olympic medals

Australia is claiming four Olympic medals 105 years after they were awarded to the United States.

The Australian Olympic Committee said in a statement Friday that Francis Gailey, who won four swimming medals at the 1904 Games in St. Louis, was Australian and not American at the time.

Gailey finished second in the 220-, 440- and 880-yard races and third in the one-mile freestyle.

AOC official historian Harry Gordon says Gailey was Australian, a student at Brisbane Grammar School and age 22 when he swam in the St. Louis Olympics. He came home to Australia after the Olympics, but emigrated to the United States in 1906. He later became a naturalized U.S. citizen and settled in California, where he died in 1972.

Gordon said confirmation of Gailey's identity had come from a group of international historians and statisticians investigating the nationalities of athletes at the 1900 (Paris) and 1904 Olympics, accordind to The Associated Press.

"Both were badly organized attachments to international trade expositions, or world's fairs," Gordon was quoted as saying in an AOC statement. "The records have always been pretty suspect."

The AOC said Gailey can now be recognized as winning the most individual medals at a single Olympics of any male Australian swimmer. Ian Thorpe won five individual medals at two Games: two at Sydney 2000 and three at Athens 2004.

The committee said Gailey's medals, when credited to Australia, increased the country's total at the Summer Games to 449: 135 gold, 144 silver and 170 bronze.

Tuesday, February 3, 2009

China, Indonesia, Mexico, Morocco, Poland and Turkey apply to host the 2nd Summer Youth Olympic Games in 2014

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) today announced that six National Olympic Committees (NOCs) have submitted applications to host the 2nd Summer Youth Olympic Games in 2014. They are, in alphabetical order: China, Indonesia, Mexico, Morocco, Poland and Turkey.

A number of NOCs requested additional time to designate the city they wish to put forward as Candidate City. The IOC has extended the deadline for these NOCs to submit the name of their cities to 1 April 2009. As of today, Jakarta 2014 (Indonesia), Nanjing 2014 (China) and Poznan 2014 (Poland) have already been confirmed.

The updated timelines below outline the bid process. The date of the election by the IOC members and of the announcement of the host city remains unchanged.

Source: IOC Press